When Did #Feminism Become a Bad Word?

Oxford Dictionary: Feminism: The advocacy of women’s rights on the ground of the equality of the sexes.

I’m sure I’ll get diatribes about how man-hating extremists bastardized the term. If that were correct and it’s a matter of semantics, should we call it “equality of the sexes” to weed out the extremists? Oxford’s definition of chauvinism is “displaying excessive or prejudiced support for their own cause, group, or sex.” By this logic, some feminists are chauvinists. In fact anything in extreme can be deemed chauvinistic.

So, why do anti-feminists (and I’m including women in this group) find the term “feminism” to be hurled as an insult?

“Oh you’re such a liberal, drum-beating feminist!” I can hear my dad clamoring after a heated debate over if being gay is an environmental affliction or a biological disposition.

My answer was, “and…?” Yes I’m a feminist. I want equal rights. But do you see me defiling pictures of men on the internet, harassing them as a group, calling them worthless bastards or oppressors? No. In fact, quite the contrary. There are so many men in the sociopolitical atmosphere that I admire. Equal rights and feminism is just as much a male platform as a woman platform. It’s a human platform. It should be a universally accepted principle. Equal opportunity for all tax paying citizens regardless of race, color, creed and sex. Why is that such an offensive topic? Why are anti-feminists so fearful of the concept? Why is #feminism such a bad word?

No really, I’m asking. If you have the answer, please share and teach the masses.

Until then, I guess I’ll keep caring my liberal, drum-beating feminist card.

Leave a Reply

