You’ve Just Been Ghosted…

GhostI am one of the worse offenders when it comes to ghosting. Usually, if I don’t really respect my date, I will just drop off. If I don’t feel the connection but the guy was a real sweetheart, I will send him a quick text saying “it’s me, not you.”

Argh, as I write this I’m cringing. Going ghost is so cowardly. But if I’m being honest, I do it and I need to be better about it. Recently, I’ve learned a valuable lesson of how ghosting someone can keep you from being with someone special.

The first date with Hipster was almost too good to be true. I saw a few potential red flags and as an alarmist with men these days, I ghosted him for several days. He was just so OPEN about his life that I wasn’t used to the constant stream of interest, honesty and attention.

Well he picked up on my non response and kept quiet. On our second date (which was better than the first!) he called me out.

“You totally went ghost on me,” he said in between glasses of wine.

“I know…” I said, embarrassed.

I had no reason to ghost a guy that I REALLY liked. In an age where communicating instantly is king, why do we feel pressured to play these digital games?

8 thoughts on “You’ve Just Been Ghosted…

  1. erika says:

    Oh dear God. I’m totally the queen of ghosting, but I had no idea it had an official name.

    I blame it on being an introvert with an extroverted personality. Sometimes it’s all just. too. much. Right?

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

