Slut Shaming

Listening to some of my guy friends talk about the pantheon of girls they slayed in the past month, I thought to myself, how many guys would call a girl a slut if they overheard this conversation? Oblivious to the double standard, my guy friends did the proverbial back slap and complimented each other’s conquest.

The Myth:

Women who live a “free love” lifestyles are sluts while men who do the same are masculine and virile.

If we refuse to scrub the word “slut” out of our vocabularies, then it needs to be an equal opportunity slur. In fact, I think I called a few of my guy friends sluts while they shot back a nonplussed glance my way. I chose not to say “male slut” because I am treating this word as agnostic of gender or sex.

Until we erase this word completely, my promiscuous male counterparts, I will mercilessly slut shame the fuck out of you.

#Foodforthought

3 thoughts on “Slut Shaming

  1. dotcamomblog says:

    I wouldn’t erase slut from our vocabulary.

    The word is useful to embarrass the girls and the guys who are promiscuous with no limit to the number of people they would drop their pants for.

    Or the word is useful to embarrass the girls and the guys who target married people or boyfriends and girlfriends. Slut is definitely more cutting and to the point than Homewrecker.

    🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

