If Hugh Jackman Was A Lawyer…

Garry was very tall (he didn’t lie) leaning against the entrance of Firehouse bar. He was playing with his phone, probably texting me directions. My phone had died and I was in Northeast D.C. pretty close to lost. But there he was. I got this tingly feeling. I get it when I see an attractive man I’m about to go on a date with.

He looked like Hugh Jackman, he sounded like Hugh Jackman, but alas, his personality was not that of Hugh Jackman. It was of a stereotypical, Hollywood lawyer: dry and boorish. Now, don’t get me wrong- my mom is a lawyer and she an animated woman. But this guy…typical.

It was all so inconsistent. We had perfectly fun, witty banter online and via text message, but in person, he was kind of a drag.

So I pressed on, drank on, and tried to entertain myself…talking to myself. His pothead roommate stopped by mid-date and chatted us up a bit (?). Even he had more personality in those brief few minutes.

The times he did talk, it was about his insatiable wanderlust mentality. He didn’t expect to live in D.C. more than two years. Great! That’s exactly what’s going to score you points in the D.C. dating scene.

The date didn’t last long. I was out of there by 11:30 p.m. and grateful. I got a few texts the next day (YouTube links to the kind of music he likes). I was nice but not too interested.

Hugh Jackman was a HUGE disappointment.

Leave a Reply

